The Orlando International Airport is expecting a record 2.7 million passengers to pass through during the 19-day Christmas holiday season that begins Friday, 6 percent more than last year.

The passenger traffic is being projected based on current flight reservations, breaking the old record even though the lineup of weekends gave last year’s record pace 21 days of holiday season, to just 19 this year.

The busiest days: Sunday, Dec. 30, will see more than 162,000 passengers; Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019, at least 155,000; and Wednesday, Jan. 2, 154,000; according to a news release from the Greater Orlando Aviation Authority.

Travelers should find the airport visit a little easier experience than last year’s Christmas rush for a couple of reasons, GOAA, pointed out: There’s less construction affecting passenger traffic this year, and GOAA and the Transportation Security Administration have worked this year to increase staffing and improve flow at the security checkpoints.

The airport also installed more than 700 new information monitors and numerous new check-in kiosks.

“Unlike last year, travelers will not see a lot of construction taking place inside the main terminal building,” Phil Brown, GOAA chief executive officer, stated in the release. “We have finished our ticket counter renovations, completed phase one of the checkpoint expansion projects and enhanced our wayfinding and signage. All of which are designed to make for a better holiday travel experience.”

Other days on which more than 140,000 passengers are expected, in descending order of projected traffic: Saturday, Dec. 29; Tuesday Jan. 1; Monday, Jan. 7; Friday, Dec. 28; Thursday Jan. 3; Saturday, Jan. 5; Thursday, Dec. 27; Wednesday, Dec. 26; Saturday, Dec. 22; and Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Just 114,000 or so passengers are expected on Christmas Eve, Monday, Dec. 24, and 112,000 passengers on Christmas, Tuesday, Dec. 25.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.